Getting organised — who to tell what you think

How to get organised, who to tell what you think

Members of the Committee for North Sydney have had enough. Appointed by the Association for the Committee for North Sydney, they are eminent architects, urban designers, planners and community leaders who don’t want to see yet more missed opportunities for the city centre, and who intend to build a sense of excitement around the potential of one of Australia’s largest CBDs — as a place for people.

There are plenty of ways to get involved and/or show your support (see the other pages) — here are three of them.

1    Become a supporter

Join the Association for the Committee for North Sydney.

2    Directory of decision makers – let them know what you think…

Here is a list of state and local government elected representatives. It is followed by a list of precinct committees and community groups. You can also download a pdf file listing these contact details here.

Premier Hon Gladys Berejiklian MP

Minister for Planning and Public Spaces Hon Rob Stokes MP

Minister for Transport and Roads Hon Andrew Constance MP

Member for North Shore  Ms Felicity Wilson MP

Member for North Sydney Mr Trent Zimmerman MP

Mayor of North Sydney, Ms Jilly Gibson

Cr Zoe Baker, Wollstonecraft Ward

Cr Stephen Barbour, Tunks Ward

Cr Maryann Beregi, Victoria Ward

Cr Kathy Brodie, Victoria Ward

Cr Tony Carr, Tunks Ward

Cr Alanya Drummond, Tunks Ward

Cr Samuel Gunning, Wollstonecraft Ward

Cr Jessica Keen, Victoria Ward

Cr Ian Mutton, Wollstonecraft Ward

Sydney Metro       

Department of Planning, Industry and Environment

2    Directory for getting organised locally

Precinct Committees  (see the North Sydney Council’s map of precincts)

The Edward, Lavender Bay, Union, Waverton and Wollstonecraft Precinct Committees – surrounding the city centre – are well organised and active. They collectively initiated the formation of the Committee for North Sydney. The other precincts west of the Gore Hill Freeway – the CBD, Hayberry, Holtermann, Registry and Stanton Precinct Committees – are no doubt organising and need your support. Contacts:

Lavender Bay Chair Robert Stitt

Registry Co-Chairs Jenny Bridge, Marianne De Souza and Mary Ashton Mobile: 0417 688 901

Union Chair Antony Giorgini

Waverton Chair Ian Grey

Wollstonecraft Chair John Hancox

Others: Council’s Community Engagement Coordinator 9936 8100,

The Greenwich Community Association is a broad-based association still very active after 74 years. Given the current addiction of state and local governments to short-term, opportunistic urban development at a preposterous scale, the GCA has many fights on its hands in defending the community.

Priority Precinct Residents Group

“Residents from Postcode 2065 and surrounding areas are coming together to oppose the OVERDEVELOPMENT of St Leonards/Crows Nest Planned Precinct — and the Crows Nest Metro Station, both of which have devastating impacts on the communities of Wollstonecraft, Greenwich and Naremburn as well as Crows Nest and St Leonards… North Sydney Council is currently meeting and exceeding the State mandated residential targets and is on track to meet the new targets set by the Greater Sydney Commission. There is no need for this massive overdevelopment nor is the necessary local infrastructure (schools, open space, sports facilities, community facilities) sufficient to manage any increase in population arising from additional residential and commercial development.”